Skip to content

Awards Presented to Champions of Donation


Columbus, OH – Several individuals and institutions were honored Saturday, March 3, 2012 by Lifeline of Ohio for their roles in saving lives through organ and tissue donation. Thirteen awards were presented by the federally-designated organ procurement organization at the tenth-annual ceremony, “An Evening with the Stars,” in Columbus, Ohio. Each award was introduced by a local individual whose life has been touched by donation. Among the presenters were donor family members, organ and tissue transplant recipients and a transplant candidate.

State Senator Charleta B. Tavares accepted the Lifeline of Ohio Legacy Award for championing organ and tissue donation through legislative efforts. The Legacy Award was established in 2000 to honor an individual or group who has impacted public policy regarding organ and tissue donation.

State Senator Charleta Tavares

State Senator Charleta Tavares and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

The Lifeline of Ohio Funeral Service Partner of the Year Award, established in 2003, was presented to Dwayne R. Spence Funeral Home, as a member of the funeral services community who has demonstrated professional excellence in support of donation.

Dwayne Spence Funeral Home

Dwayne R. Spence Funeral Home Staff Members and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

The Lifeline of Ohio County Coroner’s Office of the Year Award, honoring the coroner who has demonstrated excellence and made a difference in support of organ and tissue donation, was presented to the Franklin County Coroner’s Office.

Franklin County Coroner's Office

Franklin County Coroner's Office Staff Members and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

Other award winners:

Grant Medical Center, Columbus – Hospital of the Year Award, presented to a hospital that demonstrates outstanding collaboration to support the mission of donation;

Grant Medical Center - Hospital of the Year

Dr. Roy St. John, Mount Carmel Health System, Columbus – Physician of the Year Award, honors a physician for commitment to organ and tissue donation;

Dr. Roy St. John

Dr. Roy St. John and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

Angie Harster-Shaw, RN, Grant Medical Center, Columbus – Nurse of the Year Award, given to an outstanding hospital nurse;

Angie Harster-Shaw

Angie Harster-Shaw, RN and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

Sue McDonald, RN, Marietta Memorial Hospital, Marietta– Liaison of the Year Award, recognizes the dedication and innovation of a hospital liaison in promoting donation;

Sue McDonald

Sue McDonald, RN and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

Amy Bok, RN, St. Rita’s Medical Center, Lima– Clinical Educator of the Year Award, given to an individual who has excelled in supporting or educating the hospital staff about organ and tissue donation;

Amy Bok

Amy Bok, RN and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway

Walt Kinsey, St. Rita’s Medical Center, Lima– Hospital Administrator of the Year Award, recognizes the guidance and direction of a member of a hospital administration team in promoting donation;

Walt Kinsey

Hospital Administrator of the Year - Walt Kinsey

Berger Health System Marketing Department, Circleville – Hospital Marketing Department Award, acknowledging the comprehensive support of a hospital public relations and marketing department in promoting donation;

Berger Health System Marketing Department

Ami Robinette, RN, CCRN, Grant Medical Center, Columbus; Lauren Fay, BSN, CCRN, Riverside Methodist Hospital, Columbus; Mount Carmel St. Ann’s Hospital Intensive Care Unit, Mount Carmel St. Ann’s Hospital, Columbus– STAR award winners for demonstrating exemplary Service, Teamwork, Attitude and Respect in the donation process.

Ami Robinette

Amy Robinette, RN and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway


Lauren Fay

Lauren Fay, BSN, CCRN and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent


Mount Carmel St. Ann's ICU Staff and and Lifeline of Ohio CEO Kent Holloway


About Lifeline of Ohio

Lifeline of Ohio (LOOP) is an independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote and coordinate the donation of human organs and tissue for transplantation. Lifeline of Ohio is approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as the designated organ procurement organization (OPO) serving 37 counties in Central and Southeastern Ohio, and Hancock and Wood counties in West Virginia. Lifeline of Ohio provides services to 72 hospitals through its transplant coordinators. LOOP’s clinical staff is on call 24 hours a day to coordinate the recovery and transport of tissue and organs for transplant.

Additionally, Lifeline of Ohio offers educational presentations for professional, civic, church and social organizations, as well as elementary through college level school programs. These programs are offered year-round as a community service and are customized to meet the objectives of the particular audience. Printed materials regarding donation, as well as donor registry information, are also available from Lifeline of Ohio by calling 800.525.5667 or visiting the Web site at


Find other posts